All segments

AI Tools for Ecommerce: What Each Costs and Replaces

Seven AI tools for ecommerce priced from each vendor's pricing page, with a Shopify Plus and Klaviyo cost example and a who-this-is-not-for line for each.

  • Published
  • Reading time 11 min read
  • Author Nafiul Hasan
AI Tools for Ecommerce: What Each Costs and Replaces. Diagram: where the reporting stops. AI FOR ECOMMERCE AI Tools for Ecommerce: What EachCosts and Replaces REPORTEDNOT REPORTED pointerflow.com

Short answer

AI tools for ecommerce split by what they plug into: native platform assistants bundled free into Shopify or Klaviyo, and add-on tools priced separately by execution, resolution or GMV. For a $3M–$30M Shopify Plus brand, the deciding factor is usually whether a tool duplicates something already paid for, not its feature list.

Most pages ranking for “ai tools for ecommerce” name a dozen tools by category and quote nobody’s price. A Salesforce Commerce AI product page, an agency roundup from Scayle and a sixteen-tool listicle from analytics vendor Polar Analytics all describe what each tool does; none of them run a single dollar figure against a Shopify Plus store, and none address a brand that already runs Klaviyo and does not want to pay twice for the same category of AI feature. This comparison covers seven tools a $3M–$30M Shopify Plus brand is actually likely to evaluate, priced from each vendor’s own pricing page rather than a feature list, with an honest line on who each one is not for.

Which AI Tools for Ecommerce Actually Fit a Shopify Plus and Klaviyo Stack?

Fit comes down to three things: what a tool charges for, whether it is already sitting inside a system you pay for, and what happens to your data if you cancel. The table sets the shortlist; the per-tool notes that follow give the honest limits of each option.

ToolCategoryStarting pricePriced byAlready inside your stack?
n8nAI agent orchestrationFree (self-hosted), or €20/month (Cloud Starter, 2,500 executions)Workflow executionNo — connects to everything else
Shopify Sidekick & MagicNative merchant assistant$0 marginalIncluded in your Shopify planYes — Shopify admin
Klaviyo AI (Composer, Customer Agent)AI email copy + support agentNot published as a flat figureUsage-based add-onYes — your existing Klaviyo account
Gorgias AI AgentCustomer service automationBase plan priced separately; AI Agent per resolutionResolved conversationOnly if Gorgias is your helpdesk
Rebuy EngineAI product recommendations, upsellFree (Monetize, revenue share) to $534/month (Platform One)Orders per monthNo — separate Shopify app
Polar AnalyticsAI-powered analytics & BINot published without entering GMVAnnual GMV / Klaviyo revenueReads from Shopify and Klaviyo
Claude / ChatGPTGeneral-purpose assistant$20/month per seat (Claude Pro)SeatNo — no native connection

n8n Is the Only Tool Here Priced by What It Runs, Not by What It Holds

n8n’s cloud plans charge per workflow execution — one bill for an entire workflow run regardless of how many steps it contains or how much data passes through it (n8n, pricing page, checked September 2026). Cloud Starter is €20 a month billed annually for 2,500 executions, rising to €50 for 10,000 on Pro and €667 for 40,000 on Business, all with unlimited steps. That is a different economic model from tools that charge per task or per operation, where a workflow with ten steps bills ten times against one that bills once for the same run. The free, open-source Community Edition removes the subscription line entirely and runs on your own server — the trade-off is that you, not n8n, own uptime. n8n is not for a brand with nobody who can build and maintain a workflow; it is infrastructure that connects Shopify, Klaviyo and a helpdesk to each other, not a packaged automation someone else operates for you.

Shopify Sidekick and Magic Are Free, but They Stay Inside Shopify’s Own Admin

Sidekick, Shopify’s AI merchant assistant, is included with your Shopify plan at no extra cost, with features and usage limits that vary by plan tier (Shopify, checked September 2026). It is the cheapest entry on this list because it is not a separate purchase. Shopify Magic’s content generation lives in the same admin. Neither reaches into Klaviyo, a helpdesk or a personalization app — both stay inside the store’s own admin panel. Sidekick is not for a brand wanting one AI assistant that also touches email flows, support tickets or the 3PL; for that, the job belongs to an orchestration layer, not a platform-native assistant.

Klaviyo’s AI Add-Ons Sit on Top of a Plan You Already Pay For

Klaviyo prices Composer (AI content generation) and Customer Agent (an AI conversational support agent) as distinct paid products layered on top of its core email and SMS plans, not features bundled free into an existing tier (Klaviyo, pricing page, checked September 2026). Neither carries a flat monthly figure on the public pricing page; both are shown with a limited-time discount, which reads as a newer add-on category still finding its price rather than an established line item. The advantage over a third-party AI writer is that both sit inside the Klaviyo account and customer data you already have, with nothing new to connect. Klaviyo AI is not for a brand that has not first checked whether the task it is buying — drafting subject lines, answering a support message — is already covered by a workflow the team runs today at no marginal cost.

Gorgias’ AI Agent Is Priced Per Resolution, on Top of the Helpdesk Itself

Gorgias ships its AI Agent on every helpdesk plan and prices it per resolved conversation rather than folding it into a flat fee; the base helpdesk itself scales from 50 to 5,000 tickets a month and is never priced per agent seat (Gorgias, pricing page, checked September 2026). The exact per-resolution rate is not shown in a flat table on Gorgias’ public pricing page — it depends on plan and volume, so budgeting it means requesting a quote against your own ticket count. Gorgias’ AI Agent is not for a support inbox running well under 50 tickets a month; resolution-based pricing needs volume to beat a person answering the same tickets directly.

Rebuy Prices by Orders a Month, With a Free Revenue-Share Option Underneath It

Rebuy’s Monetize plan is free to install and takes $0.20 to $0.35 or more per transaction it influences; Platform One, the full personalization suite, is a flat $534 a month, and an à la carte “Build Your Own” tier starts around $25 a month for one package (Rebuy, pricing page, checked September 2026). All three scale against orders per month, on a published slider running from 250 up to 50,000. Rebuy is not for a brand under roughly 250 orders a month — its pricing structure was built around volume the free Monetize plan handles more cheaply until that threshold clears.

Polar Analytics Prices by GMV, and Even Its Own Pricing Page Withholds a Flat Number

Polar Analytics’ Core plan bundles business intelligence, its own “AI Agents” product, and data activations, priced by scaling against a store’s annual GMV entered into a selector rather than shown as a flat figure (Polar Analytics, pricing page, checked September 2026). Its Klaviyo Audiences product prices the same way, against annual Klaviyo revenue. That is worth naming plainly: even the vendor whose own sixteen-tool listicle for this exact search discloses no pricing does not disclose its own price without a GMV input first. Polar Analytics is not for a brand that wants to compare a shortlist on price in an afternoon — every one of its products needs a number entered, or a demo booked, before a cost appears.

Claude and ChatGPT Cost the Least and Connect to Nothing on Their Own

A general-purpose assistant is the cheapest line on this list in absolute terms — Claude Pro is $20 a month per seat (Claude, pricing page, checked September 2026), and ChatGPT is priced comparably. Neither has a native Shopify or Klaviyo connection; every draft, summary or analysis is typed in and pasted out by a person, and nothing runs on a schedule or fires off an event on its own. Claude and ChatGPT are not for a brand that wants anything to watch Shopify or Klaviyo and act without being asked each time — that is an orchestration job, which is what n8n is built for.

What Does Running These AI Tools Actually Cost a $3M–$30M Operator?

The honest answer is that at least three of the seven publish no flat number at all, and the total depends on volume no vendor pricing page shows against your own store. Take an illustrative Shopify Plus brand doing $10M a year in GMV, roughly 900 orders a month, 60,000 Klaviyo profiles and 350 support tickets a month — invented figures, not a real client’s, used only to make the arithmetic concrete.

LineMonthly costStatus
n8n Cloud Pro (10,000 executions)€50/month (roughly $54–58)Published
Shopify Sidekick & Magic$0 marginalPublished
Klaviyo Composer + Customer Agentmetric to confirmPriced on request, no flat figure
Gorgias AI Agent (350 tickets/month)metric to confirmPer-resolution rate not published
Rebuy Platform One$534/monthPublished
Polar Analytics Coremetric to confirmGMV-gated, no flat figure without a demo
Claude Pro (1 seat)$20/monthPublished

The four lines with a public number total roughly $608 to $612 a month. The three gated lines — Klaviyo’s AI add-ons, Gorgias’ AI Agent and Polar Analytics — scale with ticket volume, GMV and usage, and any of them could plausibly double that total once priced against real numbers. The only way to get a comparable figure is to request a quote from all three using your own store’s actual GMV, ticket count and profile size before committing to any single one — the method the AI automation agency cost breakdown uses for pricing an agency engagement the same way, line item by line item, rather than by headline number.

Which of These Duplicate Something You Already Pay For?

Three of the seven overlap with a system you likely already run, and checking that overlap first is cheaper than adding a new subscription. Shopify Magic overlaps with a general-purpose assistant like Claude for basic product copy — both draft text, and paying for both to do the same job is redundant unless Magic’s usage limits are already exhausted. Klaviyo’s Composer and Customer Agent overlap with a stand-alone AI email or chat tool in the same way, except the overlap sits entirely inside a platform you have already paid for and already hold customer data in, which is the stronger reason to evaluate it first. Gorgias’ AI Agent overlaps with any third-party AI customer-service product in the same category — if Gorgias is already the helpdesk, its own AI Agent starts from the same ticket data a separate SaaS tool would need reconnecting from scratch.

n8n and Polar Analytics sit apart from that pattern. n8n does not compete with the other six for the same job — it is the layer that watches for an event in one system, such as a Placed Order webhook in Shopify, and acts in another, such as creating a ticket in Gorgias or updating a segment in Klaviyo. The step-by-step AI for ecommerce setup guide covers building that kind of workflow from scratch. Polar Analytics reads from Shopify and Klaviyo rather than replacing either one’s native reporting, which makes it additive rather than duplicative, provided the specific report it produces is not already available for free inside Shopify’s own analytics or Klaviyo’s own dashboards.

What Does It Actually Take to Switch Away From One of These Seven?

Switching effort splits along the same line as duplication. Shopify Sidekick, Klaviyo’s AI add-ons, Rebuy and Claude each produce output — a draft, a recommendation, an answer — that becomes ordinary content the moment it is used; cancelling any of them leaves published pages, sent emails and completed orders exactly as they were, because none of these four is the system of record for anything. Only future output stops.

Gorgias’ AI Agent and Polar Analytics hold more. A support history built up inside Gorgias’ automation rules does not transfer to a different helpdesk automatically, and Polar Analytics’ unified reporting represents months of connected data sources that a replacement analytics tool starts re-building from zero. n8n sits at the far end: because it is infrastructure rather than a point solution, switching away means rebuilding every workflow it runs on a new platform, not just replacing one feature — which is also the reason self-hosting it, rather than renting the cloud version, keeps that rebuilding decision entirely in your own hands.

Evaluating seven tools against one Shopify Plus and Klaviyo stack is not really seven separate purchase decisions. Most of what is native to Shopify or Klaviyo is worth checking before anything gets added on top of it, and what is left over — the handoffs between systems that nobody currently owns, the ticket that should open a Klaviyo flow, the reorder signal that should trigger a Gorgias macro — is an AI agents and automation problem, which is the work we do under AI agents & automation.

Sources

Pricing, plan structure and feature availability for all seven tools come from each vendor’s own pricing page, checked September 2026, and are marked vendor-reported since each is that vendor’s description of its own product: n8n, Shopify (Sidekick), Klaviyo, Gorgias, Rebuy Engine, Polar Analytics and Claude (Anthropic). The illustrative total-cost-of-ownership figures against the $10M-GMV Shopify Plus scenario are simple arithmetic run on those published prices; the GMV, order count, profile size and ticket volume in that scenario are invented for the example and labelled as such, not a real client’s numbers. Where a vendor’s pricing page did not publish a flat figure — Klaviyo’s AI add-ons, Gorgias’ AI Agent resolution rate, and Polar Analytics’ GMV-gated plans — that is stated plainly rather than estimated.

Frequently asked

Does Shopify Sidekick replace the need for a separate AI writing tool?

Only inside Shopify's own admin. Sidekick is included with a Shopify plan at no extra cost, with features and usage limits that vary by plan tier (Shopify, checked September 2026). It does not reach into Klaviyo, a helpdesk or any other system, so a brand drafting AI copy across email as well as product pages typically still needs a second tool or Klaviyo's own Composer add-on.

Can n8n run without any coding experience?

n8n is a visual, node-based workflow builder rather than a code editor, so assembling a simple flow from its pre-built nodes does not require writing code. Connecting it to a system without a ready-made node — a less common helpdesk, a custom API — usually needs someone comfortable reading API documentation and debugging a failed webhook.

Is Gorgias' AI Agent worth evaluating below 50 tickets a month?

Rarely. Gorgias' own materials describe its base helpdesk plans as scaling from 50 to 5,000 tickets a month, with the AI Agent priced per resolved conversation on top of any plan (Gorgias, pricing page, checked September 2026). Below that range, resolution-based AI pricing seldom beats a person answering the same tickets directly.

Can Rebuy's revenue-share Monetize plan cost more than a flat subscription tier?

Yes, at high order volume. Monetize is free to install and takes $0.20 to $0.35 or more per transaction it influences (Rebuy, pricing page, checked September 2026), so the running total can pass a flat tier like the $534-a-month Platform One plan. The crossover point depends on order volume and is worth modelling against your own numbers.

Does Klaviyo's Customer Agent handle refunds or cancellations without a human?

Klaviyo's pricing page lists Customer Agent as a distinct paid product alongside its core email and SMS plans (Klaviyo, checked September 2026) but does not state, at that level, which actions it can complete unattended. Confirm the exact permitted actions with Klaviyo directly before assuming it can action a refund on its own.

Is Polar Analytics a replacement for Shopify's native analytics dashboard?

No page in this comparison, including Polar Analytics' own, claims that. Polar Analytics' Core plan is priced as a layer on top of a store's existing GMV and Klaviyo revenue (Polar Analytics, pricing page, checked September 2026), built to unify data across sources rather than substitute for any one of them.

Can Claude or ChatGPT connect directly to a Shopify store without a developer?

Not on its own. A general-purpose assistant like Claude answers what it is asked inside its own chat window at $20 a month per seat (Claude, pricing page, checked September 2026); reading or writing live Shopify or Klaviyo data needs a built connector or custom API work, which is a separate job from the seat price.

Do any of these seven tools guarantee lower support or ad costs?

No. Every tool in this comparison is priced on usage, seats or resolutions, not on a guaranteed outcome, and none of the vendor pricing pages checked for this piece publish a return or savings figure tied to their own price.

Is there a free way to trial n8n before paying for a Cloud plan?

Yes. n8n's Community Edition is free, open-source and self-hosted, with no published cap on workflow executions (n8n, pricing page, checked September 2026). The paid Cloud tiers exist for brands that would rather not run and maintain the server themselves.

Does n8n's lower advertised cloud price require an annual commitment?

For the cheapest rate, yes. n8n's published Starter, Pro and Business cloud prices — €20, €50 and €667 a month — are all shown at the annual-billing rate; the same tiers cost more billed monthly (n8n, pricing page, checked September 2026). Self-hosting the free Community Edition avoids that trade-off, at the cost of running the server yourself.

Do any of these AI tools work for a brand below Pointerflow's $3M floor?

Several of the seven — Shopify Sidekick, Claude and n8n's free Community Edition in particular — cost nothing or very little regardless of revenue. What tends to break below roughly $3M is the ticket, order and email volume needed to make a resolution-based or GMV-based product like Gorgias' AI Agent or Polar Analytics worth its own line item.

Do n8n's cloud executions count a workflow run that fails partway through?

n8n's own pricing documentation defines an execution as a single run of the entire workflow, independent of step count or data volume (n8n, pricing page, checked September 2026), but does not separately state whether an errored run is billed differently from a completed one. Check n8n's current usage documentation before assuming either way.

Next step

Is this your ai agents & automation problem, or a symptom of another one?

Bring your numbers — the churn split, the decline rate, whatever your flows are earning — and we will tell you which of them is the expensive one.

Book a call →